Taking Care of My Neighbor's Dog For Two Days!!


I have been taking care of my neighbor's dog for two days! The dog is a German Sheperd, about almost 3, I think. Her name is Macie. She is a very sweet dog! She barks when anybody knocks on the door or rings the doorbell. She is a very protective dog. She won't bite anybody, but she will come straight for them and bark a bunch! When you see her coming towards you barking, you feel like she's going to bite! She knows not to, thank goodness!:) She knows me well because Sophie and I go to play with the girls there a lot. Macie barks at us only for about 4 seconds and then stops. She barks at strangers for a long time! When she barks at us, it's a high-pitched bark. When she barks at strangers, it's a deep bark. I think she just barks at us because she is happy to see us. She is a very cute dog! She does not jump up on us. Strangers maybe. 

Anyways so my friends had to go to Sacermento for two days and wanted to have me watch Macie while they were gone. ( We live down the street from them). Of course, I said sure! After they left, they told me to check on Macie tonight and feed her. When I was at their house, I took Macie outside of their backyard so she could go to the bathroom. After she did, I played with her out there so she could stretch her legs and get some exercise. Then I let her get some water, and after that, I put her back into the house and then made sure to lock everything, and then left. It's always nerve-racking that something bad will happen, like you forgot to lock something, but I did lock everything. The next day I came in the morning, and everything was fine. I fed her and played with her in the backyard and then gave her water and then locked everything, and came back home. Then in the afternoon, right when I was about to go to the house again, the owner Mrs.Garza, texted and said, "hey, I'm just on the internet and found a person that said there was a loose German Sheperd that's going around. Is Macie all right? I am sure it is not her, but can you just make sure?" I was so scared that Macie might have gotten out!! My legs were seriously shaking!! I told Mrs.Garza I did make sure to lock everything and that I would go over now and make sure she was still there! My heart was racing! If I didn't lock everything and Macie got out! Oh man, that would be bad! When I got to their house, I unlocked the door and called out Macie!! And Macie came straight to me!!! I almost died with relief!! So I texted back to Mrs.Garza that Macie was fine. She texted and said," Thank you for checking!" 

It's a lot of responsibility to take care of a dog! But I was glad to help!

Here is a picture of Macie!