I Got Two Super Cute Baby Russian Tortoises!!

I got two baby Russian Tortoises!! They are super cute! My sister Noelle got me them! I am super grateful!! I have always wanted a baby tortoise. The lady that Noelle got them from said that you can't tell yet if they are a girl or a boy. I can't wait till they are going to be full-grown adults! 

When they are one and a half years old you can tell probably if they are a girl or a boy. I watched a video about how you can tell between a female and a male tortoise. 

Here is the video:

Russian Tortoises don't actually come from Russia. The reason why they are called Russian Tortoises is that the soldiers from Russia were in a country called half Afghanistan for several years. The soldiers liked the Tortoises they found from that area and brought them home as pets to their families in Russia. From there in Russia. The rest of the world discovered them as good pets from the Russians. And that is why they are called Russian Tortoises.

The Russian Tortoises eat anything basically that is green. But they should not eat spinach because they don't have the ability to process the spinach properly like humans. I feed my two baby tortoises Apples, Green beans, Salad, Carrots, etc. They should also not eat iceberg salad. Like spinach, they cant process the iceberg properly like humans. 

Tortoises are land animals and turtles are water animals. 

It is really rare seeing tortoises drinking water. But I actually have seen one of my tortoises drink water!! It's really cute! I have not gotten it on camera though. I wish I did.

I give them small baths two times a week. You are apparently supposed to fill the water only to their tail level. But with turtles, they are always in water so I guess they already get a lot of baths. :]


Here is a video of my two baby Russian tortoises:

In this video, it looks like they are really big but really they are super small. They are smaller than my hand!

Their names for right now are Joe and Ella. You can tell which one is Ella and which one is Joe because Ella is smaller than Joe. As I said, I don't know which one is a female or a male yet. But I really like those names. So for right now, I am naming them Joe and Ella:]