Helped Out With Watching Somebody!

My mom and I helped somebody out yesterday! I can't say the names because of privacy, but I will say the first letter and last letters of the name. Mrs.M and Mr.M are the people we helped out. We watched Mrs.M while Mr.M went to a bible study. The reason why we watch her is that she has dementia. So she can't remember much of what she says and also says random stuff out of her head. Mr.M wanted to get out of the house for a break and attend a bible study. And every Tuesday, he goes to a bible study, and while he is gone, we watch her. Mr.M doesn't have dementia or any other sickness. My mom has been the one watching her last week, and this time I will go with her too and help out and see what it's like! I was nervous at first, but after a while, I was fine! And even had a great time!

What is dementia, you might ask? Well, dementia is when you lose your memory and start saying things out of your head randomly.  And you don't even really know what you are saying. Usually, it happens to elderly people. It can happen to young people, but it is more common for elderly people to have it. You know, when people keep getting older and older, they start to lose their hearing? Sometimes, it can get worse, and you could start losing your memory little by little. It is pretty common to have it. This lady we are watching does. So she will start saying things like, I can't eat my food. It's too much. But she eats it anyways and finishes it all. She will also say stuff like, I won't do this, but she does it. So just things like that are what she says. And she will try to go and take walks, but she can get lost easily. So Mr.M locks all the doors so she can't get out and get lost. But she goes to a place where people take her, and Mr.M gets a little break for three hours and then brings her back. He also takes her around, so she has stuff to do.

Mrs.M is in her 70s.

My mom and I go every Tuesday morning so Mr.M can go to a bible study. Their house is small but super clean and cozy! I would love a house like that! :)

Oh, and while we were watching her, we played the song" How great though art. " And we heard her saying over and over, how great though art. It was so sweet!! We played other songs, but she kept saying how great thought art. She was in her bed in a different room, and we heard her from there. They also have a tan cat named Simba. It's a really nice cat. It goes in and out of the house.

Here is a picture of her playing with banana grams with us. We weren't really playing banana grams the right way; we were just spelling words and seeing if she could read them. She did read a lot of different words we put out. And she even spelled words too! The words were just like, " cat " or " sea."

I can't wait to go next weekend!


Comments

You were a huge help! I think it went even better with you there because she seemed calmer :) You're a natural care-taker (with all that experience with Sophie)
Thanks! - Johanna

Add a comment